ONErpm copyright claims in YouTube

I just recently started posting a series of videos to YouTube using the same Icons8 song in each - Happy Step, by Nordgroove. There is no Content ID noted on the music in Icons8.

With each video upload to YouTube, a copyright claim has been asserted by ONErpm. I have disputed the claim each time, and provided clarification that I have an annual subscription to Icons8. So far, the disputes have been agreed in my favour. However, I have several more videos to upload in this series, and it is a colossal waste of my time having to go through the dispute process every single time.

What is the point of an annual subscription to Icons8, and making an effort to only use music that doesn’t show ‘Content ID’, if I have to go through this dispute process every single time? Can Icons8 take responsibility for dealing with the technical back end so that someone with a registered subscription doesn’t have the use of licensed music flagged like this, and/or deal directly with ONErpm?

1 Like

Hi there!

We understand your frustration. The truth is that any track can get a ContentID claim from YouTube, and there’s little that can be done about it on our end. Unfortunately, we have no power over YouTube rules and policies.

What we can do is provide our users with instructions on how to deal with a ContentID claim in case they receive it. And as in your case, the disputes are resolved in favor of our clients. These videos don’t get deleted, and the monetization is paid out after the dispute is closed.

We thank you for your understanding and patience.

Hi there,